Immuinity Fallout

Once again we are at that point in Propel where the stress is truly adding up and causing others to be on edge about the status of their projects. Even though I’ve had this experience before, I am still feeling the pressure of the completion deadline. As well, being a Gr 12 student at NMC means that I am involved with many other extra curricular and regular programming at the school, adding even more stress to my already tight schedule. Adding together all of these different variables left myself very stressed and leaving my immune system very vulnerable. You can probably guess what happened next…

On Tuesday November 29th I was thrown down by my arch nemesis Strep Throat. It started to appear the day before on Monday, and I took a pre-cautionary Advil to try and make sure I wouldn’t lose any mire time in school. Unfortunately my efforts were deemed worthless. On Tuesday, my tonsils had swelled to the point where I had trouble eating. My mother took me to the clinic so I could get a prescription. Once we had gotten the prescription filled at the pharmacy, I opened the small box and a sheet of 6 pills came out. I was a little skeptical at first, but after the first day of taking these pills, I was born again!

Waking up Wednesday morning, it was like I hadn’t even been sick at all. My tonsils were still slightly swollen but nothing that was making it impossible to eat or breathe. Heading back to school that day I felt very good, I was able to hammer out final details of our material order with Mr. Patrician and send that off to be picked and delivered. Now on Friday the product has been delivered and unloaded into the workshop. Next week Mr. Hansen, Mr. Patrician and myself will be away from school but for unrelated reasons. I’m performing in NMC’s theatre production on Dec. 7, 8, and 9. Which will leave my project at a standstill for a week.

Until next time,

Sean Kohli

Leave a Reply

